Proud Boys Found Guilty Of Seditious Conspiracy For Jan. 6 Attack

Proud Boys Found Guilty Of Seditious Conspiracy For Jan. 6 Attack
Enrique Tarrio (screen capture)

Four members of the Proud Boys, including their former leader Enrique Tarrio, have been found guilty of seditious conspiracy for their actions taken at the U.S. Capitol on Jan. 6, 2021.

Via Axios:

Tarrio could face 20 years in prison after being convicted in one of the highest-profile cases stemming from the attempt to stop the certification of the 2020 presidential election.

Seditious conspiracy is committed when two or more people in the U.S. conspire to overthrow, destroy, seize the property of or levy war against the U.S. government, or to prevent the execution of any U.S. law.

In addition to Tarrio, the jury also found three other Proud Boys members — Joseph Biggs, Ethan Nordean and Zachary Rehl — guilty of seditious conspiracy.

Defense attorneys used their closing arguments on Tuesday to place the blame on Donald Trump for the attack on the Capitol saying it was Trump’s “words, it was his motivation, it was his anger that caused what occurred on January 6 in your amazing and beautiful city.”

A fifth Proud Boy, Dominic Pezzola, was acquitted of the seditious conspiracy charge, but found guilty of obstruction of an official proceeding, conspiracy to prevent Congress and federal law enforcement from their duties, and destruction of government property.