Mexico’s President Denounces Homophobia, Backs Nationwide Marriage Equality

Mexican President Enrique Peña Nieto, in observation of International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia, signed initiatives that would seek to add same-sex marriage provisions to Mexico’s constitution and the national civil code.

President Enrique Pena Nieto proposed Tuesday to legalize same-sex marriage in Mexico, a move that would enshrine on a national level a Supreme Court ruling last year that it was unconstitutional for states to bar such couples from wedding.

Pena Nieto said he would seek to reform Article 4 of the constitution to clearly reflect the Supreme Court opinion “to recognize as a human right that people can enter into marriage without any kind of discrimination.”

“That is, for marriages to be carried out without discrimination on the basis of ethnicity or nationality, of disabilities, of social or health conditions, of religion, of gender or sexual preference,” he added.

Pena Nieto’s Twitter page and other government Twitter accounts were turned to include the rainbow colors as he made the announcement.

Although same-sex marriage is recognized in all 31 Mexican states, only 8 states have passed legislation which allows couples to marry locally.

The Mexican president’s Twitter feed was full of posts regarding today’s actions.

Worldwide, same-sex marriage is currently legal in the Netherlands (2001), Belgium (2003), Canada (2003-2005), Spain (2005), South Africa (2006), Norway (2009), Sweden (2009), Argentina (2010), Iceland (2010), Portugal (2010), Mexico (2010-2016; see section below), Denmark (2012) + Greenland (2016) + Faroe Islands (2016), France (2013), Brazil (2013), Uruguay (2013), New Zealand (2013), England and Wales (2014) + Scotland (2014), Luxembourg (2015), the United States of America (starting with Massachusetts in 2004 and growing to 37 states before the 2015 Supreme Court nationwide ruling), Ireland (2015), Colombia (2016), and Finland (starting in 2017).