Sen. Rand Paul is the dubious winner of this year’s CPAC Straw Poll

As this year’s Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) wound down, it was announced that Sen. Rand Paul won the 2014 CPAC Straw Poll with 31%.

Paul won last year also with 25%.

Among others who placed, it was notable that last year’s second place finisher in the poll, Marco Rubio, fell from 23% to 6% this year. That may be in part to his public position on immigration reform.

The Paul family is a long time favorite at CPAC. Sen. Rand Paul’s father, Ron Paul, won the poll in 2010 and 2011. Mitt Romney won in 2012 just before clinching the GOP nomination for president. Rand Paul has won two years in a row now.

The last winner of the CPAC straw poll to become president was George Bush in 2000.

Here’s the list:

Sen. Rand Paul (Ky.): 31%

Sen. Ted Cruz (Texas): 11 %

Dr. Ben Carson: 9%

Gov. Chris Christie (N.J.): 8%

Gov. Scott Walker (Wisc.): 7%

Former Sen. Rick Santorum (Penn.): 7%

Sen. Marco Rubio (Fla): 6%

Rep. Paul Ryan (Wisc.): 3%

Gov. Rick Perry (Texas): 3%