New Mexico: And we have county number 8!

Add Los Alamos county to the growing list of counties issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples in New Mexico. 

The County Clerk, Sharon Stover, didn’t want to jump on the bandwagon, but a district judge ordered the licenses be issued:

Janet Newton and Maria Thibodeau were denied a marriage license last week and they filed a lawsuit that led to a ruling by District Court Judge Sheri Raphaelson that same-sex couples are entitled to be married in New Mexico.

Los Alamos County Clerk Sharon Stover went to court Wednesday to defend her decision, but the judge ruled against the clerk.

Seven of the state’s 33 counties are issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples and number 8, Grant County, plans to start granting licenses next week.