Marriage equality heading into 2012

Marriage equality heading into 2012

On Jan. 1, Hawaii and Delaware join the growing number of states offering some form of relationship recognition for same-sex couples.

Marriage equality: Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Vermont and Washington, D.C.

Civil unions: New Jersey, Illinois, Rhode Island – soon to be joined by Hawaii and Delaware

Domestic partnerships: California, Colorado, Maine, Maryland, Nevada, Oregon, Washington state and Wisconsin

The Republican-controlled state legislature in New Hampshire has a pending bill to repeal marriage equality in that state, but the governor has promised to veto it, if passed.