LGBTQ Entertainment Critics Honor The Best (And Campiest) In TV

LGBTQ Entertainment Critics Honor The Best (And Campiest) In TV

Hugh Jackman, Janelle Monáe, Regina King, Billy Porter, Laverne Cox, Dan Levy, and political satirist John Oliver are among the slew of actors, comics, and performers lending cheer to GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics’ inaugural Dorians TV Toast 2020 on Revry, airing Sunday, September 13th on the first LGBTQ+ global streaming network Revry.

Disclaimer – yours truly is a voting member of GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics

The two-hour star-studded virtual event, hosted by entertainer and talk show host Karel, will reveal the stars and TV shows the LGBTQ+ organization’s 270 members deemed the best, most visually stunning, and campiest of the past TV season.

In addition to raising a glass to the honorees—many of whom will appear via virtual acceptance videos—GALECA members discuss the nominees’ merits and even controversies (Randy Rainbow and Tiger King don’t get off lightly).

Actor/producer/co-creator Dan Levy’s riches-to-rags comedy Schitt’s Creek leads the pack with seven nominations, while Hollywood whiz Ryan Murphy’s ambitious, star-studded reimagining of Tinseltown’s early days  Hollywood – sashays down the red carpet with six nods.

HBO’s TV movie Bad Education and daring miniseries Watchmen each have four Dorian nominations, with the respective stars, Jackman and King, earning best performance nominations.

Singer and actress Monáe, now seen in the centuries-spanning horror film Antebellum, and Porter share a nomination for TV Musical Performance of the Year for their vibrant opening number in this year’s Academy Awards telecast.

For a full list of nominees, spanning 14 categories, head over to

You can check out a quick highlights reel from the 2020 Dorian Film Toast, including appearances by Antonio Banderas and Olivia Wilde, below.

Just a few of the presenters for the TV Dorians are: Drag icon Shangela; out news anchor Thomas Roberts; GLEE star Alex Newell; RuPaul’s Drag Race All-Stars champ Chad Michaels; actress-comedian Margaret Cho; veteran talk radio host Stephanie Miller; legendary saxophonist Dave Koz; actress/singer Lea DeLaria; and iconic comic Bruce Vilanch.

The Society’s Dorian Awards, which in the past have gone to both film and television titles combined, announced the nominees for its first separate Dorian TV Awards on June 30. The Dorians are awarded to both general and LGBTQ content, reminding bigots, bullies and at-risk youth that the world looks to the Q eye for leads on great entertainment.

“With September being Suicide Prevention Month and next month being LGBTQ History Month, this is a lovely and loving time to celebrate not just great television, but also how ‘rainbow’ journalists have boosted Hollywood from day one,” said John Griffiths,’s Executive Director and Founder.

The show will air Sunday, Sept. 13 at 8pm EST, 5pm PST for free on Revry, the LGBTQ+ streaming network, available globally at

LGBTQ Entertainment Critics Honor The Best (And Campiest) In TV

Celebrities set to appear:

Hugh Jackman
Regina King
Rafael Casal
Margaret Cho
Laverne Cox
Lea DeLaria
Harvey Guillén
Dave Koz
Dan Levy
Damon Lindelof
Chad Michaels
Stephanie Miller
Annie Murphy
Michael Musto
Alex Newell
John Oliver
Janell Monáe
Billy Porter
Thomas Roberts
Fiona Shaw
Josh Thomas
Jane Velez-Mitchell
Bruce Vilanch
Kate Rose Wilburn

GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics’ Dorian Awards, a nonprofit professional organization, was founded in 2009. Today, GALECA consists of 270 active critics and journalists who write on entertainment for major and distinctly unique media outlets in the U.S., Canada, Australia, and the U.K.

Visit for more info, and follow us @DorianAwards on Twitter and Facebook, and @Dorian_Awards on Instagram.