22nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards – Hollywood

22nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards – Hollywood

From GLAAD.org: Last night, GLAAD honored the media’s most outstanding images of the LGBT community at the GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles, hosted by Amy Poehler and Rashida Jones.

Sean Hayes presented the Vanguard Award to Broadway & TV actress Kristin Chenoweth in recognition of her work to promote LGBT equality.

Music legend Dolly Parton presented the Stephen F. Kolzak Award to Chairman of NBC Entertainment, Robert Greenblatt, in recognition of his work to bring LGBT characters to living rooms across the nation. Greenblatt gave life to such LGBT-inclusive TV shows as ‘The L Word,’ ‘Queer as Folk,’ ‘Six Feet Under’ and ‘United States of Tara.’

‘Glee’ and ‘Modern Family’ tied to take home the Outstanding Comedy Series Award. Golden Globe-winning actor Chris Colfer and Mike O’Malley accepted on behalf of ‘Glee,’ while ‘Modern Family’ stars Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Julie Bown and Ariel Winter accepted on behalf of the ABC smash comedy.

Lifetime’s Project Runway took home the award for Outstanding Reality Series, and MSNBC’s Lawrence O’Donnell was joined by Fort Worth City Councilman Joel Burns to accept the award in the Outstanding TV Journalism Segment category for O’Donnell’s segment ‘Fort Worth Speech,’ which highlight Burns’ passionate plea to end anti-LGBT bullying.

An especially poignant moment came when actress Kirsten Dunst presented the Special Recognition Award to 17-year-old Nikki Peet, who attracted national media attention after she successfully petitioned her Corpus Christi high school to form a Gay-Straight Alliance, despite the administration’s opposition.

The GLAAD Media Awards series will continue in San Francisco on May 14, the final ceremony in 2011.

Pop sensation Ricky Martin and hip hop mogul Russell Simmons were among the winners at the GLAAD Media Awards in New York, held last month at the Marriott Marquis in Times Square.