What To Watch Tonight: Dorians TV Toast 2021

Tune in on Sunday, August 29, for the Dorians TV Toast 2021 – a hybrid of award and magazine shows. Presented by GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics, the event celebrates the past TV season’s best performances and shows, mainstream to queer+.


Patricia Arquette, Jennifer Beals, Olivia Newton-John, Tituss Burgess, Fran Drescher, Big Freedia, Nick Kroll, Punkie Johnson of Saturday Night Live, Michael Cimino (Love, Victor), Hannah Einbinder (Hacks), Leyna Bloom (Pose), Jesse James Keitel (Big Sky), Josie Totah, Jeffrey Bowyer-Chapman (Doogie Kameāloha, M.D.), Gottmik (a.k.a. Kade Gottlieb), sitcom icon Jim J. Bullock and more help present the awards. Among those nominated tonight are  Jean Smart, Bowen Yang, Showtime’s Ziwe and the Marvel hit WandaVision are among those vying for the group’s 12th annual Dorian honors.

You can watch for free on Here.tv and on YouTube’s PlanetOut channel.

Oh, and guess who also makes an appearance in tonight’s soiree? Yep, I’m a proud voting member of GALECA 🙂

Pose star Mj Rodriguez discusses her life as a Hollywood trailblazer, actor-comic John Lehr (Hulu’s Quick Draw) impersonates MSNBC personality Steve Kornacki, and The Voice season five contestant Morgan Mallory sings an original pop song about the power of television. Famed LA broadcasting veteran and LGBTQ rights activist Karel is the recorded special’s lively host.

The Dorians TV Toast 2021 is produced by Karel Media and Brandon Riley Miller Productions with GALECA, with Karel and John Griffiths serving as Executive Producers. Karel, a groundbreaking personality in mainstream radio and TV, has hosted programs on ABC, CBS Radio and Free Speech TV across his 25-year career.

The Society’s past film and TV toasts have included appearances by Hugh Jackman, Regina King, Janelle Monáe, Billy Porter, Chloé Zhao, Carey Mulligan, Antonio Banderas, Margaret Cho, Laverne Cox, Dan Levy, Rachel McAdams, John Oliver, George C. Wolfe, Amy Landecker, Bradley Whitford, Leslie Jordan, RuPaul’s Drag Race winner Chad Michaels, Fiona Shaw, Alex Newell, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Gavin Newsom, Damon Lindelof, Lee Daniels, Cheyenne Jackson and more.

GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics sponsors the Dorian Awards, honoring the best in film and TV, mainstream to queer+. We’re here to remind bullies, bigots and our own at-risk youth that the world loves the Q eye on great and unique entertainment. A nonprofit professional organization, GALECA consists of over 300 critics and journalists who write for a variety of influential media outlets in the United States, Canada, Australia and the U.K. Follow us @DorianAwards on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. Find more information at GALECA.org