Greece’s Parliament Approves Civil Unions

By a vote of 194 to 55, the Greek Parliament approved legislation making civil unions legal in Greece.

JoeMyGod reminds us that out of the 28 European Union members:

• Same-sex marriage is legal in twelve of them: Belgium, Denmark, Finland (effective 2017), France, Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia (effective date pending), Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland.)

• Civil unions are legal in eight EU nations: Austria, Croatia, Cyprus (effective date pending), the Czech Republic, Estonia (effective 2016), Germany, Greece (effective date pending0, Hungary, and Malta.

• No partnership recognitions exist in seven EU nations: Bulgaria, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, and Slovakia. Non-EU members Norway and Iceland legalized same-sex marriage in 2009 and 2010, respectively.

Non-EU member Switzerland legalized registered partnerships in 2007.